Brain Dump

A place to store my random thoughts and anything else I might find useful.

Dual boot UEFI Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12.04 (adapted from askubuntu.com)

Posted by mzanfardino on November 20, 2012

In an effort to ensure that I do not forget how to perform the following tasks, I am re-posting them here. This is a near-verbatim copy of the instructions provided at http://askubuntu.com/questions/193144/dual-boot-uefi-windows-7-and-ubuntu-12-04-both-64-bits-w7-entry-doesnt-appea.

Find where the windows bootloader resides by mounting the efi partition, and searching for bootmgfw.efi. My configuration has Windows installed on four (4) separate devices: sda1, sda2, sda3, and sda4. The GRUB scripts find windows installed on sda3, but this does not boot as it’s not the correct EFI entry. In my case, I found bootmgfw.efi on sda1.

$ mount /dev/sda1 ~/tmp/sda1
$ grub-probe --target=fs_uuid ~/tmp/sda1/EFI/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
UUID=2431-71DE

Edit grub custom script to add an entry for UEFI boot for Windows 7:

$ vim /etc/grub.d/40_custom
menuentry "Windows x86_64 UEFI-GPT" {
search --fs-uuid --no-floppy --set=root 2431-71DE
chainloader (${root})/efi/Microsoft/Boot/bootmgfw.efi
}

NOTE: replace the UUID follow ‘–set=root’ with the value returned from grub-probe. Then run update-grub:

$ sudo update-grub

This worked in my case.

NOTES:
The PC I configured for DualBoot is an HP Pavilion pre-installed with Windows 7 Home Premium. I used gparted to resize sda3 to make space before I installed ubuntu. I installed ubuntu from the alternate install CD (64-bit).

Leave a Reply

 
